The Pokémon Philosphy

Standard

What people don’t know about me is that I was… and still kinda am  a great Pokémon fan.

For those that don’t know, Pokémon started as a NES game and then become a very succesful tv series and movie franchise. In most incarnations of the fictional Pokémon universe, a Trainer that encounters a wild Pokémon is able to capture that Pokémon by throwing a specially designed, mass-producible spherical tool called a PokéBall  at it. If the Pokémon is unable to escape the confines of the Poké Ball, it is officially considered to be under the ownership of that Trainer. Afterwards, it will obey whatever its new master commands, unless the Trainer demonstrates such a lack of experience that the Pokémon would rather act on its own accord. Trainers can send out any of their Pokémon to wage non-lethal battles against other Pokémon; if the opposing Pokémon is wild, the Trainer can capture that Pokémon with a Poké Ball, increasing his or her collection of creature

dgUxk

 

So the fact that I love gaming you can safely assume that I have played all the games brought out in the franchise, and the Pokémon game that I particular remember and really love is Pokémon Black & White

imagesCA95M282

(I’m probably going to sound like such a stoner BUT….)

I really feel the game asks a lot of philosophical questions, answers you never ask yourself but you need to know. In my opinion the search for life’s meaning plays a big part in the plot of the game. Main characters go through adventures ordinary people can relate, asking questions for example what the purpose of their life, actions and ambitions are and if the ends justify the means.

… they even have a whole PETA plot incorporated into the storyline.

So the game starts with your playable character and two of your friends, who go on this great journey where they meet new people, catch Pokémon and battle other Pokémon trainers.

… think Ash’s adventure from the first season.

One of your friends is obsessed with finding herself and finding out what she wants to  do with her life. and what person can’t relate to that. As a 4th year I too still wrestle with questions on who I want to become and what I want to do with my life.

Your other friend is obsessed with beating all the gym masters and becoming the strongest trainer of them all, to become the ultimate Pokémon champion. At one point of the game, the current Pokémon champion asks him why he wants to become the strongest trainer and what he wants to do once he becomes the strongest.

So while I was playing, at moments i would be catch myself looking out of the window, staring into the nothingness, contemplating my life, like I just read a Maya Angelou poem…

Now the villains of the story are Team Plasma and their goal is to convince all Pokémon trainers to set their Pokémon free, due to Pokémon being wild and their need to be free.

Team Plasma’s actions are full of moral ambiguity. Yes, their beliefs is good but their actions are bad and it makes you ask the question does the end justify the means.

okay, okay, I will concede I putting a lot of meaning into this and sometimes you just want to play a game but this really intrigues me and I firmly believe by asking yourself these questions will help you achieve your destiny, what ever that may be.

So people of the palace, until next time

Stay Awesome

Wd5wg

Leave a Reply

